Paul Desmond - Desmond Blue (180 Gram Vinyl Record)

Paul Desmond - Desmond Blue (180 Gram Vinyl Record)

$ 25.00

Limited Edition AAA Pressing.

Cut from the original stereo tapes by Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound

Housed in a Stoughton old style tip-on jacket.

180-gram vinyl pressed and plated at RTI.

Originally released as part of RCA Victor’s Living Stereo series in 1962, Desmond Blue is a sonic spectacular that features alto saxophonist Paul Desmond at his best. Although perhaps best known as a member of The Dave Brubeck Quartet and composter of “Take Five,” Desmond’s solo effort is a welcome spotlight on his immense talent. A longtime audiophile favorite, the album features Desmond uniquely backed by a string orchestra and was recorded by George Avakian at Webster Hall over the course of three separate performances in September and October 1961. Desmond’s melodic playing consistently guides the orchestra through arrangements of standards such as “My Funny Valentine,” “ I’ve Got You Under My Skin” and “Body and Soul.” Analog Spark is happy to announce a new reissue of this essential album – cut from the original stereo tapes by Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound and pressed/plated at RTI on 180-gram vinyl. 


Side A

  1. My Funny Valentine
  2. Desmond Blue
  3. Then I'll Be Tired Of You
  4. I've Got You Under My Skin 
  5. Late Lament

Side B

  1. I Should Care
  2. Like Someone In Love
  3. Ill Wind
  4. Body And Soul

More from this collection