The Dave Brubeck Quartet - Jazz Goes To College (180 Gram Vinyl Record)

The Dave Brubeck Quartet - Jazz Goes To College (180 Gram Vinyl Record)

$ 30.00

Join our mailing list to be notified when this product becomes available

Limited Edition AAA Pressing

Mastered from the original mono tapes by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound

180-gram LP plated and pressed at RTI

Housed in a Stoughton old style tip-on jacket

Stock Status: In-Stock

Before there was Time Out, there was Jazz Goes To College. This incredible album documents the 1954 North American college tour of The Dave Brubeck Quartet and features Paul Desmond on alto saxophone, Bob Bates on double bass and Joe Dodge on drums. Following the album’s original release, Dave Brubeck landed on the cover of Time Magazine and was declared “the most exciting new jazz artist at work today.” 

Allmusic  - ***** "Perfect representation of the Dave Brubeck Quartet's pre-Time Out (1959) antics in the preferable concert performance setting." The quartet's "support of Brubeck is uniformly flawless, ultimately producing what many consider as the most memorable music in the artist's cannon." 

All About Jazz - "Essential recording" of "Brubeck-Desmond's greatest period, before the comparatively sterile, more formulaic studio albums, including Time Out.

Robert Christgau - Record Grade: A. Christgau commented that on the album's standards, Paul Desmond is at his "lyrical best."


1. Balcony Rock

2. Out Of Nowhere

3. Le Souk

4. Take The 'A' Train

5. The Song Is You

6. Don't Worry 'Bout Me

7. I Want To Be Happy

More from this collection